Love letter from CSN

In Sweden, studying at university is free. As long as you have the qualifications and good enough grades, you can be accepted to any top university free of charge.


However, living expenses, accommodation, study books etc are not free; hence most Swedish students apply for a grant or a student loan to pursue their studies. The Swedish agency in charge of financial aid for students is called Centrala Studiestödsnämnden or more commonly known as CSN.


When mentioning CSN it's equally sexy as saying, for example ticket officer or speeding ticket.


All students hate dealing with CSN, yet they are dependant on CSN to receive their yearly student loan. At the beginning of every semester you receive a lump sum of money. It's like Christmas. Belated Merry Christmas!


Rarely did I feel bad nor consider that this sum of money was to be paid back one day. It was all happy, happy student days. With happy, happy student prices (especially in the bar).


A few years have past since I completed my studies and I no longer receive a sum of money, a Merry Christmas donation to support my be-happy-go-lucky-lifestyle. Hell, I hardly receive a bonus where I work.


Instead this lump sum donation from CSN has turned in to a cold hearted letter that is sent out at the beginning of every year, stating exactly how much I owe them and how much of my debt I have to pay back during the fiscal year.

Every year I pay back thousands of kronor but I feel that the pie just doesn't seem to get any smaller - the contrary, it seems to grow.

Damn those interest rates.


I wish that my salary would grow as fast as CSN interest rates are growing. Because at the rate things are going - I'll never be debt free.




Merry Christmas to you too CSN.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0